How to reset your account on Instagram

How to reset your account on Instagram

Secrets of LinkedIn - How to Harness the Potential of Your Profile 1

Secrets of LinkedIn - How to Build a Personal Brand

Learn the strategies that will transform your profile into a powerful networking tool on LinkedIn.

With its easy photo and video sharing capabilities, Instagram has become an extremely popular and essential social media app. However, you may decide to leave the app or need to find a way to regain access to the app.

How to reset your account on Instagram

If you want to reset something on your Instagram account, you're probably looking for a way to reset your username, password, email address or phone number, or you're looking for a way to reset your entire account, deleting all old photos, likes and followers.

Whatever your reason for being here, this article covers everything from fixing those login credentials to clearing your account. Here are the different ways to reset your account on Instagram.

How to reset your Instagram password using Facebook, email, phone or username

First, let's take a look at how to reset your password, as this is one of the most common problems encountered by Instagram users. If you don't have access to your account and can't log in on Instagram, you have several options.

First, if you have linked accounts on Instagram and Facebook, try logging in using your Facebook profile. Logging in using Facebook may be all you need to get back to your account, where you can change and update your password. Follow these steps to reset your password:

  1. Beginning Instagram and tap on Did you forget your password? on iOS or Get help logging in On Android.
    Instagram login screen android ios 001
  2. You will have three options: Username (including e-mail), Phone, I Log in via facebook.
    2 1
  3. If you know your Facebook login and it is associated with your Instagram, select Continue as. Bottom Line.
    3 1
  4. If you don't know your Facebook login, enter your Instagram username, e-mail, Or phone. You MUST have one of these credentials. An email will be sent to your email address with a link to reset your password.
    4 1

If you do not receive a link to reset your password, you may have been the victim of a hacker, and the hacker may have altered your account information to prevent you from regaining access. Alternatively, you may not remember the original username, email address or phone number used for your account.

If this is the case, don't worry - there is another option.

How to reset your Instagram password without a username, email address or password

  1. Open Instagram app.
    1 2
  2. Tap on Get help with logging in. on Android or Did you forget your password? On iOS.
    Instagram login screen android ios 001
  3. Tap on Need more help?
    3 2
  4. Fill in the information on the screen, then tap Ask for support.
    IMG 9620 576x1024 1

Fill in the information as much as possible. The more convinced you are that you are the rightful owner of the account, the more likely it is that Instagram will decide to restore your access. Include any additional details the security team may need to help them make an accurate decision.

Note, however, that this may not work. Instagram goes to great lengths to ensure that people can't access accounts they don't own, so they need to be careful when they receive a request for additional login assistance. If you can't prove that you are the real owner of the account, you may not be able to get your account back.

How to delete all your photos from Instagram to reset your account on Instagram

Another way to reset your account on Instagram is to delete all images/posts. This way you still have your current account, but you start over with new images and posts. This is where things get a little trickier. Ideally, Instagram would allow you to delete posts and photos en masse. Unfortunately, this is simply not the case. Not only does Instagram neglect the option to delete all your posts at once, but it also makes it difficult to use third-party services, so much so that there are currently none available in 2022.

Use third-party apps to delete all photos from Instagram

At one point, you could search for Instagram cleaners in the Apple App Store and Google Play Store, and many reliable apps appeared. However, in September 2021, many trusted options disappeared. As of April 2022, no bulk deletion apps are available on Instagram on either platform.

Archive your old posts on Instagram to reset your Instagram account

Before you go crazy deleting everything, know that you can easily archive old photos. Archiving means that no one but you can see them. Basically, it allows you to hide your photos without actually getting rid of them.

To archive a photo, do the following:

  1. Open the photo you want to archive.
  2. Tap on three vertical dots In the upper right corner.
  3. Get Archive.

To view archived photos, go to your profile and tap the three horizontal lines. Select Archive option. There you can see all your previous stories and archived photos. Tap on Archived stories at the top of the page to choose between testimonials, posts and live content.

How to delete your account and reopen it

If you're going to dash ahead and delete your entire IG account, you can do so from within the app itself. Keep in mind that following the instructions below will permanently delete all your comments and likes, as well as reset your followers account.

Still interested? Start by deleting your Instagram account.

  1. Go to special Delete your account Page on a mobile device or computer.
    1
  2. Select the reason for deletion from the drop-down menu.
    2
  3. Enter your account password again.
    3
  4. Click or tap Permanently delete my account.
    4

Note: If you choose this method, you will have to wait 14 days to use your username again.

You can now create a new account with the same username, unless someone has gained access to your username in the meantime. Once you have a new account, it will be like a brand new account. Sometimes a fresh start is just what the doctor ordered.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I reactivate my account on Instagram?

If you have temporarily deactivated your account, you can reactivate it by logging in with the same credentials. If you have permanently deactivated your account, you cannot reactivate it. Assuming there were some problems and your account was deleted by a hacker or Instagram, contact Instagram's support team for additional assistance.

Can I create a new account with the same login information?

According to the official, from April 2022 Deleting an account on Instagram The page states: "After deleting your account, you can re-register with the same username or add that username to another account, as long as it has not been taken by a new person on Instagram."

You'll find many websites that claim you can't, but that's not true, as the link above indicates. Simply click the drop-down menu next to "How do I delete my account on Instagram?"

Why am I blocked from accessing my Instagram account?

Whether your account says your password is incorrect or Instagram has disabled your account, there are several reasons why your account is inaccessible. If you can't access your account after following the steps above, contact Instagram support. Also check your emails for Instagram messages. This will tell you if you have violated community guidelines or if your account has been hacked.

If I delete my Facebook account, how do I get access to Instagram?

If you choose to delete your Facebook account, but it is also a login option on Instagram, you will need to disconnect your Instagram accounts before deactivating your Facebook account. To do this, head to Settings on Instagram click Accountand then tap on Linked accounts. Set up a new username and password, then securely delete your Facebook account.

Can I delete all my posts on Instagram at once?

No, you can't collectively delete all posts on Instagram. There used to be third-party apps, but they have disappeared on Android and iOS. The only real option is to delete your account, unless you want to filter posts and delete each one separately.

Similar Posts